The Oklahoma state liquor laws are very specific and limit a number of things that are legal in other states. They are some of the strictest in the nation. Here are the Oklahoma liquor laws, the rules governing beer and other alcohol in Oklahoma.
Note: The descriptions below are intended only as a guide. For full and detailed explanations of applicable laws, contact the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission of Oklahoma
As with all other states, Oklahoma has a minimum alcohol purchase age of 21 years old. In addition, property owners are forbidden from allowing a person under 21 to drink on their property, punishable by a fine and up to 5 years in prison.
Also, it is a misdemeanor for anyone under 21 to pretend he/she is over 21 for the purposes over buying alcohol.
In the state of Oklahoma, any alcoholic beverage containing more than 3.2% alcohol by weight or 4% alcohol by volume can only be sold at room temperature in state-licensed liquor stores. This includes wine, high-point beers and other liquor.
Grocery stores and convenience stores can only sell low-point beer (between 0.5% and 3.2% alcohol by weight).
Sales Time Restrictions:
It is illegal in the state of Oklahoma to sell packaged liquor for consumption “off-premises” on Sundays and holidays: Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. In addition, liquor stores can only be open from
10 a.m. to 9 p.m., and even low-point beer can not be sold at grocery stores or convenience stores between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.
As of 2007, liquor stores can now be open on election days.
Restaurants & Bars:
The rules for restaurants & bars are different than those above in the state of Oklahoma, as the consumption is “on premises.” For these establishments, individual counties get to decide whether to allow “by the drink” alcohol purchases, but alcohol can not be sold between 2 a.m. and 7 a.m.
In addition, there are specific rules for promotions. Restaurants & bars are allowed to discount drinks but it must last for a calendar week. They can not have “happy hour” promotions, nor can they permit any drinking games or serve more than two beverages at a time to a customer.
The “open container” law in Oklahoma forbids consuming alcohol in public, as well as making it illegal to be intoxicated in public. If cited, you could face a small fine and possibly between 5 and 30 days of imprisonment.
There is an exception to this law, though. Showing just how much the state of Oklahoma loves its football, public consumption of low-point beer is allowed around the stadium on University of Oklahoma football gamedays.
An open container in any location accessible by the driver of a car is also prohibited.
Driving Under the Influence:
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is defined as a blood or breath alcohol content of 0.08% or more in the state of Oklahoma. It is punishable by a fine of up $1000 and up to 1 year in prison.
If under the age of 21, a blood or breath alcohol content of anything over 0.00% results in a DUI charge and drivers license revocation.